Specializing in Media Campaigns for the Music Community, Artists, Labels, Venues and Events

Storyville Records New Release Hank Jones – Live At Slukefter 1983

Storyville Records New Release Hank Jones – Live At Slukefter 1983

Hank Jones, Shelly Manne, Mads Vinding


The American pianist Hank Jones could, spanning his 65 year career, always be counted on for a joyful presence on the jazz scene, playing sparkling piano solos that uplifted every group that was wise enough to hire him. This set of previously unreleased music from June 6, 1983 puts the spotlight of one of the most consistent geniuses in jazz history.

In the 1970s and 1980s, Jazzhus Slukefter in Tivoli Gardens, Copenhagen, was the site for a large number of live recordings release by Storyville. Hank Jones brought Danish bassist Mads Vinding with him, a bassist with a large sound, the ability to take very original solos, and a love for straight ahead jazz. The third name on the stage was drummer Shelly Manne, whose career was as prolific as Jones’, and who added color and life to every group. This 1983 concert consists of nine jazz standards. Jones takes the lion’s share of the solo spots, changing his style between that of a classical bebop pianist and other times swinging elegantly like Teddy Wilson. The masterful trio comes up with creative variations and give all the songs on the release rewardingly fresh treatments.

Release date: April 6th. Cat. 1018470

1. Just Friends
2. Au Privave
3. Alone Together
4. Stablemates
5. It Could Happen To You
6. Scrapple From The Apple
7. Budo
8. Tangerine
9. What’s New


Read more on our website.

Copyright © 2018 Jazz Promo Services, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by MailChimp

Leave a Reply

Call Now Button