Specializing in Media Campaigns for the Music Community, Artists, Labels, Venues and Events

Sun Ra Arkestra & William Parker’s Curtis Mayfield at Town Hall March 4!

Sun Ra Arkestra & William Parker's Curtis Mayfield at Town Hall March 4!


Sounds of Justice

Marshall Allen
Sun Ra Arkestra

William Parker’s
Curtis Mayfield Project

Wednesday, March 4, 7:00pm
The Town Hall, 123 West 43rd Street

WEDNESDAY: Sun Ra Arkestra under the direction of Marshall Allen (first time at Town Hall since ’74!) and the return of William Parker’s Inside Songs of Curtis Mayfield (first since the passing of the legendary Amiri Baraka.)

Buy Tickets! >>

Check out William Parker Talking about his Music and this Project 

“This monumental performance at the majestic The Town Hall will undoubtedly provide sounds of hope and inspiration in these tumultuous times . This is an event that is truly not to be missed.” – The Brooklyn Rail

William Parker’s Inside Songs of Curtis Mayfield 

Music by  Curtis Mayfield, William Parker
Lyrics by  Curtis Mayfield, William Parker
Poetry by Amiri Baraka, Thomas Sayers Ellis
William Parker – director, bassist

Leena Conquest – lead vocals
Leila Adu-Gilmore – vocals
Raina Sokolov Gonzalez – vocals
Ronald Peet – vocals
Thomas Sayers Ellis – voice
Lewis Barnes – trumpet
Darryl Foster – soprano sax
Rob Brown – alto sax
James Brandon Lewis – tenor sax 
Dave Sewelson – baritone sax
Steve Swell – trombone
Dave Burrell – piano
Cooper-Moore – organ
Hamid Drake – drums
​Moon Lasso – video art

The Sun Ra Arkestra led by Marshall Allen
Music & Lyrics by Sun Ra
Marshall Allen – director, arranger, alto sax, flute

Tara Middleton – vocals
D. Hotep – guitar
Melanie Dyer – viola
Nina Bogomas – harp
Knoel Scott – vocals, saxes
Robert Landham – alto sax
James Stewart – tenor sax 
Danny Ray Thompson – baritone sax 
Michael Ray – trumpet
Dave Davis – trombone
Emmett McDonald – trombone
Robert Stringer – trombone
Vincent Chancey – french horn 
Elson Nascimento – perc., surdo 
Ron McBee – percussion
Tyler Mitchell – bass 
Wayne A. Smith – drums
Marvin Bugalu Smith – drums
​William Mazza – live video painting

Twitter Twitter

Facebook Facebook

Instagram Instagram

Website Website

Support Arts for Art with your Amazon purchases by selecting us as your benefiting charity at Amazon Smile

Copyright © 2020 Jazz Promo Services, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Leave a Reply

Call Now Button