Specializing in Media Campaigns for the Music Community, Artists, Labels, Venues and Events

The new Chairman Of The Board: Bob Dylan Will ‘Uncover’ Frank Sinatra Classics on New Album | Rolling Stone

The new Chairman Of The Board: Bob Dylan Will ‘Uncover’ Frank Sinatra Classics on New Album | Rolling Stone


Bob Dylan Will 'Uncover' Frank Sinatra Classics on New Album

Bob Dylan
By  | December 9, 2014

After months of rumors, Bob Dylan has finally announced the details of his upcoming record Shadows in the Night. Produced by Dylan under his longtime pseudonym Jack Frost, the album features 10 songs popularized by Frank Sinatra, including "Autumn Leaves," "Some Enchanted Evening," "The Night We Called It a Day" and "I'm a Fool to Want You." It hits stores on February 3rd, 2015, but is now available for pre-order.

"It was a real privilege to make this album," Dylan said in a statement. "I've wanted to do something like this for a long time but was never brave enough to approach 30-piece complicated arrangements and refine them down for a five-piece band. That's the key to all these performances.

"We knew these songs extremely well. It was all done live. Maybe one or two takes. No overdubbing. No vocal booths. No headphones. No separate tracking, and, for the most part, mixed as it was recorded. I don't see myself as covering these songs in any way. They've been covered enough. Buried, as a matter a fact. What me and my band are basically doing is uncovering them. Lifting them out of the grave and bringing them into the light of day."

Dylan released his cover of the album track "Full Moon and Empty Arms" in May and began playing "Stay With Me" on tour a few months later. The rest of the tracks have yet to be heard. "There are no strings, obvious horns, background vocals or other such devices often found on albums that feature standard ballads," Columbia Records Chairman Rob Stringer said in a statement. "Instead, Bob has managed to find a way to infuse these songs with new life and contemporary relevance. It is a brilliant record and we are extremely excited to be presenting it to the world very soon.”

Dylan wrapped up the 2014 leg of his Never Ending Tour last week with a show at New York's Beacon Theater. He's expected to continue the tour next year, but has yet to announce any dates.

Shadows in the Night track listing:

1. "I'm a Fool to Want You"

2. "The Night We Called It a Day"

3. "Stay With Me"

4. "Autumn Leaves"

5. "Why Try to Change Me Now"

6. "Some Enchanted Evening"

7. "Full Moon and Empty Arms"

8. "Where Are You?

9. "What'll I Do"

10. "That Lucky Old Sun"




Leave a Reply

Call Now Button